Hi, I am new to SQL and just trying to self teach myself... I have written the below script and I am recieving an error. If anyone could help this would be much appreciated...

SELECT 
(CASE WHEN SL_PL_NL_DETAIL.DET_NOMINALCR = NULL THEN SL_PL_NL_DETAIL.DET_NOMINALDR
ELSE SL_PL_NL_DETAIL.DET_NOMINALDR = NULL THEN 
SL_PL_NL_DETAIL.DET_NOMINALCR END)]

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

try using IS NULL

read more here.

Hi, thanks but this just changes the error to saying "IS" instead of "="....

select case when sl_pl_nl_detail.det_nominalcr is null then sl_pl_nl_detail.det_nominaldr else sl_pl_nl_detail.det_nominaldr end as some_name

/*i think this can work for you too*/

select COALESCE(sl_pl_nl_detail.det_nominalcr, sl_pl_nl_detail.det_nominaldr) as some_name

/*or this*/

SELECT ISNULL(sl_pl_nl_detail.det_nominalcr, sl_pl_nl_detail.det_nominaldr) as some_name

Sorry I'm having problems with the latter part of my code when I use the top one of these, it is giving me a syntax on "AND" now, here is my full code:

SELECT (CASE WHEN sl_pl_nl_detail.det_nominalcr IS NULL THEN sl_pl_nl_detail.det_nominaldr ELSE sl_pl_nl_detail.det_nominaldr END) as some_name

AND CST_DETAIL.CT_NOMINAL = NL_ACCOUNTS.NCODE AND CST_COSTHEADER.CH_CODE = CST_DETAIL.CT_COSTHEADER AND NL_MAJORHEADING.NL_MAJORCODE = NL_ACCOUNTS.NMAJORHEADCODE

Is it that your full code? Because you are missing the "from" and "where" clause.

Eg. Select some_fields from some_tables where some_fields = some_values and some_other_fields = some_other_values.

Ahh no here is all my code.....