Hi guys.

I am an IT student currently 3 days into my work placement which is the mandatory 3rd year of my degree course. I am working for a charity in England and my first task is to transfer data from excel sheets to a microsoft sql management studio database. All well and good.

The problem I have encountered isnt with the task itself, but more setting myself up to perform it. When I was learning php in uni the last year the procedure was this:

1: Connect to filezilla
2: write php file
3: upload php file to university server
4: type relevant address into browser to view php file

I am now faced with an entirely new system and it is dawning on me that this procedure may be similar but is not the same.

The points that I need to be clarified so that I can progress are as follows:

1: The differences in connecting to microsoft sql database compared to phpmyadmin which is what I am used to. I have included this information in a php file to allow connection:

<?php
$hostname = "localhost";
$username = "myNetworkUsername";
$password = "myNetworkPassword";
$database = "testDb";
$link = mssql_connect($hostname,$username,$password);
mssql_select_db($database) or die("Unable to select database");
?>

However, since the server is hosted externally I am assuming "localhost" is incorrect?

1.After doing some googling I have included a phpinfo() function and do not see mssql mentioned anywhere. the php version is 5.3.0. This has me confused. I did not know that php was something that had to be downloaded and installed. Rather that it was a scripting language that could simply be written in a text document and away you go.

2.Google is also bringing up posts about extension=php_mssql.dll and SQLSR. I really need this terminology to be clarified.

Thanks very much , I'm pulling my hair out here, and going down endless dead ends trying to find information relevant to my dilemma.

David

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies