table orders:

CREATE TABLE ORDERS
(Order_ID integer,
Order_Date date,
Customer_SID integer,
Amount double,
Primary Key (Order_ID),
Foreign Key (Customer_SID) references CUSTOMER(SID));

My question is, how are you going to identify if the referencing is a one-to-many or a one-to-one relationship??

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Hey there,

Now I am still learning MySQL, and I do not have much experience in this portion of SQL, not there yet. but here is a site you can go to, it may give you the help you are looking for.

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/4.1/en/index.html

This is a MySQL manual.

Hope I could be of service to you.

;)

Hey there,

Now I am still learning MySQL, and I do not have much experience in this portion of SQL, not there yet. but here is a site you can go to, it may give you the help you are looking for.

This is a MySQL manual.

;)

Nah.. I guess the answer that I'm looking for is not here. Thanks anyway.

I can't point to an authority to back me up, but my guess is that we discover the one-one vs. on-many relationship by studying the PRIMARY key of the tables in question. Because the values of the primary keys of the two tables do not have to be identical between linked records of the two tables the relationship is one-many. The table with the foreign key is on the many side of the relationship.

What if you wanted a one to one relationship between two tables? For example, a customer table and a Customer_Current_Address table. It seems to me that they both would have the same PRIMARY key to support the one to one relationship. Plus one of the tables would have a foreign key to preserve referential integrity. In other words, the rule that you can't insert a Customer_Current_Address record before inserting a customer record is expressed by having a foreign key field in the Customer_Current_Address table.

Hi, not very familiar with mysql. I have here a mysql statement:

table customer:

CREATE TABLE Customer
(SID integer,