I'm new to MySQL and following a tutorial in a book to design a PHP MySQL website. Following this tutorial, I created a PHP page from which I can update entries in the MySQL database. What's strange is that only specific entries in the database will not update, while others (the majority) will update without any trouble. I can update all entries using PHP MyAdmin. Just curious, has anyone run into this issue before?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

It could be something related to the content in your statement. Note if you have any apostrophe's or other characters that would be intrepretted by PHP as the end of the SQL statement. You may want to post your MySQL and PHP code to take a look.

Member Avatar for LastMitch

@jonathan.flesher

I'm new to MySQL and following a tutorial in a book to design a PHP MySQL website. Following this tutorial, I created a PHP page from which I can update entries in the MySQL database. What's strange is that only specific entries in the database will not update, while others (the majority) will update without any trouble. I can update all entries using PHP MyAdmin. Just curious, has anyone run into this issue before?

It really would be helpful if you can post your query and your php code to see the whole issue.

Here's the code for the page I'm using to UPDATE the MySQL records. As defined in ../includes/config.php: $host = "localhost", $dbuser = "root", $dbpassword = "", $dbdatabase = "itiglass.com".

<?php session_start();

require("../includes/config.php");

// connect to server, select database
    $db = new mysqli($host,$dbuser,$dbpassword,$dbdatabase);

if(isset($_SESSION['USERNAME']) == FALSE) {
        header("Location: " . $config_basedir);
    }
    // validation
    if(isset($_GET['id']) == TRUE) {
        if(is_numeric($_GET['id']) == FALSE) {
            $error = 1;
        }
        if($error == 1) {
            header("Location: " . $config_basedir);
        }
        else {
            $validentry = $_GET['id'];