Hi everyone,

Ok so let me start by saying I am COMPLETELY new with MySQL, I have only tried to use it for the first time hours ago. This might be an easy one for you guys...

Here's my code:

<?php

// Grab User submitted information
$email = $_POST['users_email'];
$pass = $_POST['users_pass'];

// Connect to the database
$con = mysql_connect('localhost','root','');
// Make sure we connected succesfully
if(! $con)
{
    die('Connection Failed'.mysql_error());
}

// Select the database to use
mysql_select_db('riseguin_clients',$con);

$result = mysql_query('SELECT users_email, users_pass FROM users WHERE users_email = $email');

$row = mysql_fetch_array($result);

if($row['users_email']==$email && $row['users_pass']==$pass)
    echo'You are a validated user.';
else
    echo'Sorry, your credentials are not valid, Please try again.';
?>

When I run it, it says the following:
Warning: mysql_connect() [function.mysql-connect]: Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2) in /hermes/bosweb/web183/b1836/ipg.mywebsite/validate_login.php on line 8
Connection FailedCan't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock' (2)

Thanks for your help,
Richard

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I'm pretty sure it is!

Do you have a way of connecting into an admin mysql like phpmyadmin or by logging into the server?

the mysql_connect() details must be incorrect $con = mysql_connect('localhost','root','');

mysql_connect($host,$user,$pass);

also i suggest using mysqli instead

mysqli_connect($host,$user,$pass,$db);

mysql_ is being phased out sometime in the future so may as well start your project with mysqli(mysql improved)

Heres the code to create a new user on mysql when you get onto the admin:

CREATE USER 'test'@'%' IDENTIFIED BY 'pass123'; 
FLUSH PRIVILEGES;