hy, i'm having a big problem, thats because i'm new in this, i have two qrys unfort doesnt work

if(isset($_GET['id'])){
    $id=$_GET['id'];

$qry=mysql_query("SELECT *,replace(category, ',', ' ') as category FROM articles WHERE id='$id'", $con);
    $sql = mysql_query("select *,Total17,sum(q5) Total18,sum(aste3) Total19 from articles where category= how ?",$con);

if(!$qry){die("Query Failed: ". mysql_error());
}
while($row=mysql_fetch_array($qry)){ `"

so the problems is that id i can get it with $_get, but the category row how?

example table 
id name name2 category
1    a    b     e
2    c    d     e
2    c    d     f

i want to sum all the rows where category = e(like id) if it is possible to make one query
the problems its that the query is limited at that id , but i trying to show two type in the page, one specific details from that ID and the total of the category(category dosnt have id)
thanksssss

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

if(isset($_GET['id'])){
        $id=$_GET['id'];

$qry=mysql_query("SELECT *,replace(category, ',', ' ') as category FROM articles WHERE id='$id'", $con);
$qry1 = mysql_query("select *,Total13,sum(q5) Total18,sum(aste3) Total19 from articles where category='$cat'",$con);          

}
 while($row=mysql_fetch_array($qry)){ 

$cat="".$row['category']."";

something like this so i whant to make 1 first query and the seecond query needs to be based from a field from first query
          $current_date = date("d/m/Y");
          if(isset($_GET['id'])){
        $id=$_GET['id'];

$qry = mysql_query("select * from articles where id='$id' ",$con);       
$qr1 = mysql_query("select *,sum(q6) Total13 from articles where category='$cat2'",$con);

}
$row= mysql_fetch_assoc($qry);

$row1= mysql_fetch_assoc($qr1);
$cat2="".$row['category']."";

doesnt work .....