hello every one
I am a student of CS and in this semester i have a subject DBMS, i haven't do any programming with sql till now, i am completely new to it, here i want to know that about different DBMS software. in our coll we have oracle 8i, is there any other DBMS in market better than it. so please list all DBMS softwares and their features.
and lastly if we compare oracle 8i and oracle 9i which is better and also suggest me any of system for my studies.
from where i can get these these software?

also mention any tips from your experience that will help me plzz rply now..

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Oracle has a very good reputation. You may also want to look at MySql and Postgresql which are free and quite robust, but may not have such "nice" tools. In my career, I have found it very good to use more than one (programming language, or compiler, or DBMS) when I work on things: This makes me sure that what I'm doing is not "married" to the one tool I learned with, but is more universal: I'm better trained to work anywhere that has any of these tools.

The main issue with learning SQL is that it is not like other programming languages: No variables, no functions etc. Instead you pretty much tell the engine what you want and it figures out how to do it. (This is simplistic: Real DBMSs let you write scripts, but SQL does not). You need to read a text or two, and do some exercises. Not just a few, but many with different requirements. There are a lot of good books and many good online resources.

Good luck.

thanks
one question more...
please give me the brief details of different oracle softwares and their availability.
In our institute we have oracle 8i...is it a good one or i prefer to other.

please also mention their launching dates.

thanks
one question more...
please give me the brief details of different oracle softwares and their availability.
In our institute we have oracle 8i...is it a good one or i prefer to other.