I've posted this in the MySQL forum but I have recently stumbled across this forum and it looks far more active so I'm hoping for a response here:

Some notes: MySQL database, MyISAM type (debatable, I don't know why I would use InnoDB or how it differs from MyISAM, but the book I am learning from uses MyISAM, granted it is an older book.)

Hey guys, I hate to be the nubcake but I am. So I am still learning php and as a side project as I learn skills I intend to build an online game. Obviously, this needs to be database driven. This is about the time I learned about normalization. Then I started to normalize my data and got even more confused. Note, current concept of the game doesn't involve any real strong user to user interaction.

Needs of my particular Database:
Hold user information (name, password, email)
Link that user its various creatures it owns
Link that user to it's inventory (which should be easily changed)
Link the various creatures to its equipped inventory
Hold the various creatures statistics

so far I've gotten as far as this:
USER
user_id*
user_name
user_pass
user_email

USER_STATS
(perhaps this and the table above could be merged? I imagine additional statistics will eventually be added to each user, would it really make any difference to have the tables merged? )
user_id*
user_level
user_health
user_alignment

CREATURE
user_id* (according to the laws of normalization this seems wrong because there would be lots of redundant data here. Is that right? Users can own multiple creatures)
creature_id*
creature_name
creature_type
creature_slots (number of inventory slots)

CREATURE_STATS
(Again, perhaps this and the table above could be merged? I imagine additional statistics will eventually be added to each creature, would it really make any difference to have the tables merged? )
creature_id*
creature_level
creature_str
creature_dex
creature_luk

USER_INVENTORY (unequipped items, and items that don't equip at all)
user_id*