Good evening,

So I am working on a php application powered with a mySQL. I feel I am an intermediate programmer in php and intermediate with dealing with mySQL. I have begun to research security as it is or should be in my opinion the core fundamental when building anything that contains protected information on a database. Security methods seem to be a personal preference, usually involving salt (when dealing with php) along with md5, sha1 or sha256 or a combination. I originally planned on using salt along with md5 and SSL, but I'm not sure if this is the best way to go about all of this.

So I am wondering what languages and methods users prefer to protect their databases with? The reason I am asking is because I see alot of online banks using cgi scripts and I am curious if maybe cgi scripting is a better alternative for more sensitive information.

I have never really gotten this in depth with security on the web, so I figured I'd rack some of the communities opinions on this topic.

Sorry forum mods if I am in the wrong section, couldn't find a security section to post this in and since it relates to protecting databases I figured this was as good of a spot as any.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I assume you're asking about data level encryption?

I personally wouldn't encrypt database data, instead I would make the environment where it lives very secure instead. After all, once you decrypt the data, if that is sent across the wire, that can be intercepted. The other thing is, if this was a big database, encrypting and decrypting data would really make the database unuseable quickly.