hello,

i m working on connecting sqlData with C# form
showing data detail on text boxess like ID,name,occupation.and doing the search by entering the ID on textbox then clicking the button to show the details
i'm just a beginner in C#

so i did the the coding like this and it is full of mistakes can u plz help me and tell me how can i do this

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows.Forms;
using System.Data.SqlClient;

namespace WindowsFormsApplication2
{
    public partial class Form1 : Form
    {

public Form1()
        {
            InitializeComponent();

}

private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            SqlConnection cn = new SqlConnection("Data Source=C:=Users=....");
           cmd = new SqlCommand("select * from finalTest where ID = '"+textbox1.text+"'",cn);
            cn.Open();
            dr = cmd.ExecuteReader();
            while (dr.Read());
           { 
                 TextBox2.text(dr[ID].ToString());
                 TextBox3.text(dr[firstName].ToString());
                 TextBox4.text(dr[occupaion].ToString());
}

dr.Close();
            cn.Close();

}
    }
}

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Hi

so i did the the coding like this and it is full of mistakes can u plz help me and tell me how can i do this

When you say it is full of mistakes, can you tell us what errors you are getting and where?

A couple of things I noticed:

What database are you using? You mention sqlData and I can see you are using SqlConnection but that connection string looks a little strange, unless this is an SQLLite database maybe?

cmd = new SqlCommand("select * from finalTest where ID = '"+textbox1.text+"'",cn);

Is ID a numeric field (as its name suggests) or a text field? If it is numeric then you do not need to enclose the contents of textbox1 in apostraphes. The query should look like: