Hey Ive been searching all over for an example but cant seem to find anything to close to what im after, Im really new to javascript so dont know how to start coding it myself.

Ive got a form with 3 text fields, one for first name, last name and one i dont what the user to be able to write things in(if that cant be done no biggy), when I hit submit, I want to move these two entries (first name and lastname) into uneditable text field so basically just combine the two, and then the user can add more names and it just keeps adding them to the end of the other text field... kinda hard to explain, basically like a chat type thing, where hitting enter just adds more names to the other text field except only you can see it...

If anyone can point me to some examples or tutorials similar to this that would be great, thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

<script lang='javascript'>
function joinname()
{
   document.frm.fullname.value= document.frm.fname.value+' ' +document.frm.lname.value;
}
</script>
<form name=frm id=frm >
<input type=text name=fname id=fname onblur='javascript:joinname()'>
<input type=text name=lname id=lname  onblur='javascript:joinname()'>
<input type=text name=fullname id=fullname readonly >
</form>

thanks so much, lol i was trying to run what you had originaly, thank you very much for the reply :) it works great

Is there a way i can get this to work when the user hits submit? and then they can add another name on top of that one?

<input type=text name=fname id=fname >
<input type=text name=lname id=lname  >
<input type=text name=fullname id=fullname readonly >
<input type=submit name=btnsub id=btnsub  onclick='javascript:joinname()'>

This is what im hoping to get

<html>
<head>
function joinname()
{
   		document.completenameform.fullname.value = document.joinnameform.fname.value + ' ' + document.joinnameform.lname.value;

return document.completenameform.fullname.value;
}
</script>
</head>