Hi, i'm really new to jquery and i don't know how to solve this. i added following code to blink a div. initially mypopup div is hidden. and 10 seconds after page was loaded this div appears. because of this toggle() method div displays for 10 more seconds before hiding again. if i want to show that div only for 3 second what can i do???

<script type="text/javascript">
    var blink = function(){
	//$('#mypopup').css({left:0px, top:0px}
	$("#mypopup").css({"left": "0px"});
	$("#mypopup").css({"top": "0px"});
        $('#mypopup').toggle();
    };
    $(document).ready(function() {
        setInterval(blink, 10000);
    });
</script>

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

try

setTimeout(blink,3000);
// or possibly your setInterval ... 1000 milliseconds = 1 second,
// you are setting yours to 10000 = 10 seconds, so set it to 3000.

Ah ha... thanx... i added a new block of code as well. now it works fine :)

<script type="text/javascript">
    var blink = function(){
	//$('#mypopup').css({left:0px, top:0px}
	$("#mypopup").css({"left": "0px"});
	$("#mypopup").css({"top": "0px"});
        $('#mypopup').toggle();
			setTimeout(hide_div,2000);
		setTimeout(blink,5000);
    };
    $(document).ready(function() {
       // setInterval(blink, 10000);
		setTimeout(blink,5000);
    });
	function hide_div(){
	$('#mypopup').toggle();
	}
</script>

But there is something i want to know. on my previous post i said "because of this toggle() method". but i think that its incorrect. toggle() only display the div right? and by using this setInterval() method, like i said ,blink() function executed 10 seconds after loading the page and it displayed for 10 more seconds and looped the whole thing again and again. Can i know why does it happen that way? is that the way setInterval() works?

The setInterval() method calls a function or evaluates an expression at specified intervals (in milliseconds).