Introduction to the Issue

I'm currently working on a piece of code that was put together by someone else on my team. All of his logic was in the index.html file, so I'm trying to factor it out into a modular library. Part of the reason is that I now need to include an AJAX and UI library and I want to avoid collisions. I'm not a JavaScript programmer by any stretch of the imagination, so I have been working to understand the process of moving the code to separate files.

The Goal

The goal of my endeavor is to factor out the code my team member wrote into a separate JavaScript file. The code should be namespaced so that after I import it I can call methods by namespace.method() instead of calling method() directly. This is to prevent collissions with other code. Furthermore, I need to be able to extend this namespace through other files. So including another file should allow me to call namespace.submodule.method().

Current References and Progress

The two articles I've been working with are Namespacing in JavaScript and JavaScript Module Pattern: In-Depth. To start with I just copied the entire script from the index.html page into its own file. I then re-arranged the code to be under an anonymous self-executing function with a single argument which is the instance. Every exposed variable or method is then placed under a generic variable module which is assigned as:

var module = instance || {};

The self-executing anonymous function is passed a variable already defined above it in the code to assign itself to.

The Specific Problem

The problem is that the singleton created by this code has public variables but no public methods. So, I can call namespace.variable without any problem, but if I try to call namespace.method(), I get an undefined error. I need help understanding exactly what syntax features of the language are making the variables public but not the methods.

I've made my current work available as a gist to facilitate viewing.

Recommended Answers