I am very new to JSP language and i ahve worked a lot on JAVAlanguage and i have configured my Tomcat Server also and its running fire

I would like to know about the steps that i am required to follow to Execute my JSP File.

1.Please tell me in which directory i am required to save me JSP File
2.What is the URL i need to Type to Execute my JSP FIle

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Tomcat comes with some rather nice examples which would answer your questions.

You will also want a GOOD MODERN book about JSP, like the latest edition (3rd edition) of O'Reilly's Java Server Pages book.
You'll also want something on good web application design (to avoid falling into the trap of putting business logic into your JSPs.
O'Reilly's Head First Servlets and JSP is a good choice for that.

Tomcat comes with some rather nice examples which would answer your questions.

You will also want a GOOD MODERN book about JSP, like the latest edition (3rd edition) of O'Reilly's Java Server Pages book.
You'll also want something on good web application design (to avoid falling into the trap of putting business logic into your JSPs.
O'Reilly's Head First Servlets and JSP is a good choice for that.

Well I got my answer and I have started Executing JSP Programs.....

What I did is I just saved my Programmed in JSP folder and then I started my tomcat server from Start menu and then I wrote following link for my hello.jsp file in Web browser and it worked..

http://localhost:8080/examples/jsp/hello.jsp

Well I would like to say knowledge not only brings Confidence it brings Smile also/.......me I am so happy....thank you

hai i am mahi
i am very new to jsp pls help me clear steps to run a jsp and tomcat server.

I am very new to JSP language and i ahve worked a lot on JAVAlanguage and i have configured my Tomcat Server also and its running fire

I would like to know about the steps that i am required to follow to Execute my JSP File.