Hi guys.I am new to web development and of course I have been experiensing some problems.Most of them are easy to solve and I usually find my way, but there is some thing that is getting on my nerves for some time now.

I have been trying to make a simple script for registering a user via MySQL.No filtering input, no validating only the part that adds the new user into the MySQL table. But it doesn't work.I have checked my code a couple of times and i can't see the problem.Here it is:

<?php
if(isset($_POST["name"]) && isset($_POST["pass"]) && isset($_POST["email"]))
{
$name=$_POST["name"];
$pass=$_POST["pass"];
$email=$_POST["email"];
$con=mysql_connect('localhost','root','password');
if (!$con)
{
die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
}
mysql_select_db("users", $con);
mysql_query("INSERT INTO members (username,password,email) values ('$name','$pass','$email')") or die('Error');
}
?>

Recommended Answers

All 35 Replies

try this:

<?php
{
$name=$_POST["name"];
$pass=$_POST["pass"];
$email=$_POST["email"];
if (!$con)
{
}
$sql = "INSERT INTO `members` (username,password,email) VALUES ('" . $name . "','" . $pass . "','" . $email . "')";
$query = mysql_query($sql,$con) or die('Error: ' . mysql_error());
}
?>

if this script doesn't fix the problem, post the mysql error message and i will help you from there.

Hey.Thanks for the quick reply there mate.I am sorry you didn't get the same from me but I was unable to reply sooner.Unfortunatelly the problem remains.The worst part is that a SQL error doesn't even appear.All I get after clicking on "submit" is my page reloading blank. . .

post the rest of your code so i can see if there is a problem there.

<?php
{
$name=$_POST["name"];
$pass=$_POST["pass"];
$email=$_POST["email"];
if (!$con)
{
}
$sql = "INSERT INTO `members` (username,password,email) VALUES ('" . $name . "','" . $pass . "','" . $email . "')";
}
?>

<html>
<body>
<form action="register.php" method="post">
Username: <input type="text" name="name" /></br>