I've been trying to create a template-based site on my XAMPP server, but it hasn't come to much!

I saved http://www.wyvernfm.co.uk/schedule.asp as testpage.htm using Opera (best browser for saving webpages in!) but am not sure how to set variables in a PHP template for the presenters and images so that rather than changing the page manually (testpage.htm) everytime, I just need to create a new PHP file with the variables in, using the original testpage.htm as the template.

I'm new to this, so any advice is appreciated ;)

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I'm going to assume that you know something about PHP otherwise you need to do a tutorial.

You can add a PHP section at the very start of the module enclosing it in <?PHP and ?> statements. You could include your variables there initially and then move them out to a separate included module when you have it working reasonably well.

In the html code, you will need to include PHP sections wherever you want to include one of your variables. each of those will look something like:

html...<?PHP echo $x ?>...html
an example:
background: url(../images/whitetop_728x4-80.png) no-repeat;
becomes:
background: url(<?PHP echo $back ?>) no-repeat;

if you want to include some logic based on your variables then you will need something like:

<?PHP
if ($var == "xxx") {
echo "<a href=... ";
} else {
echo "<a href= ... ";
}
?>

You must rename the module to have a .php suffix rather than .htm

Chris

I'm going to assume that you know something about PHP otherwise you need to do a tutorial.

You can add a PHP section at the very start of the module enclosing it in <?PHP and ?> statements. You could include your variables there initially and then move them out to a separate included module when you have it working reasonably well.

In the html code, you will need to include PHP sections wherever you want to include one of your variables. each of those will look something like:

html...<?PHP echo $x ?>...html
an example: