my OS is Windows XP, i have installed apache server (2.0 X) .. i am writing a script to send an email via php mail function.

<?php
$to = "myAddress@hotmail.com";
echo "1";
$subject = "Hi!";
echo "2";
$body = "Hi,\n\nHow are you?";
echo "3";
if (mail($to, $subject, $body)) {
echo "4";
  echo("<p>Message successfully sent!</p>");
 } else {
 echo "6";
  echo("<p>Message delivery failed...</p>");
 }
?>

the mail doesn't send and i am getting the warning "Message delivery failed" .. i read few articles on this issue and got to know that you should configure the php.ini file enable the email feature, could some one send me the configuration code..

i am new to PHP .. plss help me :( :(

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

It appears in your script that there isn't a valid email. That is one thing that can cause an email delivery to fail. Also as for the php.ini file, it isn't that easy to configure. The php.ini file is driving me crazy to get my localhost php email function working. From what I have read, you need to configure the following lines of the php.ini file:

[mail function]
; For Win32 only.
SMTP = localhost
smtp_port = 25

; For Win32 only.
;sendmail_from = me@example.com

; For Unix only.  You may supply arguments as well (default: "sendmail -t -i").
;sendmail_path = "C:\xampp\sendmail\sendmail.exe -t"

; Force the addition of the specified parameters to be passed as extra parameters
; to the sendmail binary. These parameters will always replace the value of
; the 5th parameter to mail(), even in safe mode.
;mail.force_extra_parameters =

And I think there are 2 ways to setup the delivery system. You can install/use a mail server that is on the same server as this php.ini file or you can use a remote mail server such as gmail to send the mail.

[mail function]
; For Win32 only.
SMTP = localhost
smtp_port = 25

; For Win32 only.
sendmail_from = shaenator7@hotmail.com

;sendmail_path =