Hi everyone! I really love this forum, it's by far the best coding forum I've been to. I have been attempting form validation and login security for about a month now, and I made the mistake of using all JavaScript for validation (though my site requires JavaScript...sooo I could always just disallow users who don't have it enabled if need be). I just need a simple "no special characters, x characters long, email must be valid, password and confirmed password must match" script for my validation (which I made), only when it finds an error it tells the user in a JavaScript alert (which, if JavaScript is disabled, poses a problem).

My main question though is security, security, security! What can I do and how can I assure security? I was looking at Zend Guard but the product description was vague.

THANKS!

Jeff

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

ok i am not a javascript expert, i also do not know why this is in the php forum, but ill give it ago ;).

If you are worried about having a pop-up message not working in some browsers; dont be. Pretty much every browser uses javascript. If there browser does not support it, then give them a direct link to download one that does. Or if you really want, just echo to the screen that there was an error and that they need to re-type there password or whatever. If you do this use css and build a red background box like an error, place the div at the top of the page, thus forcing the user to see this box and thus realising his or her error.

ok i am not a javascript expert, i also do not know why this is in the php forum, but ill give it ago ;).

I have grown to love the PHP section and its masterminds too much to betray them like such ;).

And ooooh that's a wonderful idea! Considering JavaScript is just absolutely necessary to run the site.