hi guys, I was wondering if you could help me. I'm trying to create a report on my website through mysql and php. So I'm at the part where I have to pull in the parameters they want for the select statement. I'm using a dropdown box for this and trying to pass them into the next page. However, I'm naming each parameter individually by the table and field name as:

<?php
 echo "<select id='txtParam_" . $table['table'] . "." . $row['Field'] . "'>
<option>=</option>
<option>Like</option>
</select>";
?>

So when the form sends them to the next page it can pull each variable, eg = or Like, individually. The only problem is getting the correct table and field. I'm a bit of a rookie at all of this, so I'm not sure if I have to call the right field and table again or if the names will automatically pass. Just seems that everything I try is giving a blank array. I hope I've explained it right, I'm that good at it. All suggestions or opinions are much appreciated.

Elle x

peter_budo commented: Nice to see new member using code tags from beginning. Well done! +16

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I think you should use the 'name' attribute instead of the id attribute to name your controls. This is used in the POST or GET to the next page. Do not use the txtParam_ prefix on it, because your sql cannot handle it.

echo "<select name='" . $table['table'] . "." . $row['Field'] . "'><option>=</option><option>Like</option></select>";

If you need a more elaborate example, let me know here. I have no access to php at work anymore. Maybe you can show your handling code (if you have it).

But I need a unique name for each parameter as the fields themselves would be called $table.$field no?

Maybe I'm calling them in the next file wrong, I'm trying to use

$arrField = explode(",",$_POST['field']);
	$arrTable = explode(",",$_POST['table']);
	$Param = $_POST[$arrTable.$arrField];

foreach ($arrField as $field){
		foreach ($arrTable as $table){
			echo $Param;
		}
	}