Member Avatar for bthaxor

hey everyone,

i've been using a wordpress blog for a while now, and i recently decided i'm tired of the hassle of having to manage all the plugins, spam comments and updates. i don't know a lot about php either, however i am a web designer by hobby: so i decided to create a simple static html layout, and then have just one page as my blog, which i would regularly update.

herein lies my problem: i dont want to have to reupload the blog.html page manually every single time i want to post a new entry (and i actually blog quite a lot), so i would like some external script (sort of like the wordpress writer) to automatically insert new blog posts. i don't know if i've made myself clear enough, so i'll use an example - this is current code from my page which will represent every blog post:

<div class="post">
	<div class="post_title"><h2>title of blog post</h2></div>
	<div class="post_date">April 16th, 2009</a></div>
	<div class="post_body">
		<p>blog entry goes here</p>
	</div>
</div>

so all i'm asking for is a simple php file with two fields: title and post, which writes to my html page in the format above either via another php file or using a mysql database. also, you may have noticed there is also a div for the date the entry was posted - i would like this to be stored somehow too.

hopefully, the code would be generic enough to use with future websites too... :)

on a side note, it'd be great if someone could also tell me how to create 'pages' - so let's say if there are more than 10 posts and i create a news2.html page, it would flow from one page to the other... but that's just an added bonus :)

all help would be appreciated... i don't know much about php, but i hope this is as simple as i think it should be :P

-bthaxor

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I would suggest using mysql databases and the following is an example mysql query: