Hello there! :)

For the last couple of days, I've been working on a new project. The idea is to create a virtual adoptable pets system integrated with my forums. While I have much of it covered already, I am new to dynamic images and the GD library. So I decided to write a little sample script for practice purposes.

I took a picture of a "pet", which is saved in PNG format and has a transparent background, as the source. It is anti-aliased. The original looks just fine. No white dots around the image and no rough edges. Just smooth, and pretty. :)

This is my current script:

<?php
if(!isset($_GET) OR !isset($_GET['name']) OR !isset($_GET['owner'])) {
	header('location: http://arwym.com/wym');
	die();
} else {
	$petname = $_GET['name'];
	$petowner = $_GET['owner'];

$imagesource = 'petimg/kitsune01.png';
	$image = imagecreatefrompng($imagesource);
	$bg = ImageColorAllocate($image, 255, 0, 255);
	$textshadow = ImageColorAllocate($image, 0, 0, 0);
	$textcolor = ImageColorAllocate($image, 255, 255, 255);
	$textfont = 'macro_normal.ttf';
	imagefill($image, 0, 0, $bg);
	imagecolortransparent ($image, $bg);

imagettftext($image, 15, 0, 23, 23, $textshadow, $textfont, $petname);
	imagettftext($image, 15, 0, 21, 21, $textcolor, $textfont, $petname);

header('content-type: image/png');
	imagepng($image);
	imagedestroy($image);
}
?>

Since it is just for practice, I didn't make it too complicated. What the script does is take the requests for the pet's and the owner's names. Then it creates an image from a PNG (the pet image I mentioned), adds the pet's name on top of it (I am not using the owner's name in the script, until I can solve the current problems) with a TTF font (note that the text is white), and generates the image. The image does not get saved.

The original script didn't have the following lines: $bg = ImageColorAllocate($image, 255, 0, 255);

imagefill($image, 0, 0, $bg);
imagecolortransparent ($image, $bg);