Hello,

This query works when entered directly into MySQL but when used in a php page it fails and generates the following error:

Column count doesn't match value count at row 3

Also, the date values are not accepted in either the php page or mysql terminal, they default to '0000-00-00'.

Here is my query:

mysql_select_db("ecommerce");

$query = "INSERT INTO products VALUES (
'00001', 'toothbrush',
'Brush your teeth with this.',
395.00, '2009-21-04'),
('00002', 'tooth paste',
'You will need this too.',
695.00, '2009-21-04'),
('00003', 'mouth wash',
'Good to use after toothbrush.',
1,250.00, '2009-21-04')";

$result = mysql_query($query)
    or die(mysql_error());
echo "Products added successfully!";

What do you guys think?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

what is the error you get ?
i'm not a pro but i would say get rid of the ' around the words you want to insert or use ` i'm pretty sure that would do it

No I always use the ' to add data. Does this fill your fields exactly? and is this the order in wich yu have to put them in? I would try:

$query = "INSERT INTO products (id, item, description, price, date) VALUES (
'00001', 'toothbrush',
395.00, '2009-21-04'),
('00002', 'tooth paste',
695.00, '2009-21-04'),
('00003', 'mouth wash',

or die(mysql_error());

The extra bit I added ( (id, item ) should reflect the name of the fields in wich you are adding them to.

Another point is that you are not using your conection variable to tell MySql what server username or password to use. I understand you didn't want to post them but you must make sure that when you use the mysql_select_db function you use it like this mysql_select_db( "ecommerce" , $con ); con being your connection variable.

Also have you tried adding them individually?

'00001', 'toothbrush',
395.00, '2009-21-04')";
$query .= "INSERT INTO products VALUES ('00002', 'tooth paste',
695.00, '2009-21-04')";