Hello everyone,
I'm new to PHP and having a very basic problem of instaling the web server correctly.
Now,I tried to run PHP 5.2.9 ,
The instalation program asked me to choose a web server and for not having much understanding in this I chose apache 2.

The problem was that the instalation didn't found some ini DLL and said I have to adjust the web server manualy(I'm not sure whether I even had it instaled or not).
When I try to run PHP it also says it can't find some OCL DLL.
I used the instalation pack from the following site:
http://www.php.net/downloads.php

is it any good?
does it include the web server or I have to install it separatley(and what web server would be good for me?)?

And also,can anyone please direct me to a simple php instalation that will allow me to run php pages so I can follow the tutorial and progress in php programing(some "PHP instalation for begginer dummies" would be great)?

For technical data:
I work on Windows XP,the computer is celeron 633MHZ.

Thank you,
A.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

For a quick all-in-one installation, I'd recommend WampServer or XAMPP.

either download wamp or xampp
they come backed with everything

or you have to install it one by one
apache
pear
php
mysql
and all those good things one by one

Member Avatar for diafol

I'll second that (sorry, third that) - XAMPP is my dl of choice. As an extra 'goodie', download the community version of SQLyog from webyog to give MySQL a nice GUI (easier than phpMyAdmin).

Thank you everyone!

A.

As an alternative to that (albeit, a rather radical one), you could try setting up a Linux system! :D
Ubuntu is good.

Setting up Apache with PHP on Ubuntu is as simple as opening up a terminal and typing: $ sudo apt-get install apache2 php5 There is also a GUI package manager that you could use instead, if your not into using a terminal ;)

How I can post variable vaue to update.php page
In Form.php

<form action="update.php" method="post">