hey all -

I'm more of a self-taught programmer but am going to school for programming as well. I'm quickly finding out that my favorite languages are the ones that school doesn't teach. figures, doesn't it?

anyways, I've been playing with php/mysql for around a year now, and have been gradually trying to design harder algorithms. Eventually I want to try and code a fully functional CMS, and have a good idea how to go about most of it, however, there is one issue that has me a little stuck.

I have 2 scripts running so far, one will allow a user to add a page (which includes the page title and the content of the page, and automatically assigns a page id - auto-increment, of course) and the other script will allow a user to edit a specific page.

all page content is stored in a mysql database in a table called pages. it consists of pageID, pageTitle, and pageContent.

what I'm trying to do is pull the pageTitle column from the database and into a dynamic menu, that will add/remove/change links according to what the user does with the page titles/pages themselves.

I can retrieve the page titles just fine, but my big question is, how would I work this so the user can click on the page title and the content will display either in a new page (probably using frames) or, preferrably, the same page?

I am able to assign the page title's name as a link - so main.php shows up as

<a href="main.php">main</a>

so ideally the user would click on a menu item, and the site goes to that page - I have everything stored on the mysql database, however, so technically I don't really have a main.php or about.php, etc.

would I have to dump the contents of the row into a temporary file and give it the name of the link the user clicks on or is there some other way I should go about this?

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

PHP sits behind your web server. If a page does not exist on the web server, then PHP will never be invoked.