Hello hello. I've been dumped in at the deep end - my boss wants me and a co-worker to learn about Dynamic website (I know I know, it's a nightmare). So I've been doing a bit of research and found that I need to get hold of a package called Sokkit or PHP Triad. Unfortunately, I've looked around and can't find a version for Mac OSX. Is there something out there that does the same job? I'm I heading in the right direction?

Thanks,
Ness
x

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

Don't know about those apps, but PHP Coder Pro is a good tool... I use it for all my php development. The software is free. You will have to learn php to build your site, there are no apps that will write the code for you..

Thanks for the help.. I'll look into that. I know I've got to learn PHP- that's what I'm scared aboooot :(. :sad:

I just started learning a few months ago and am already building some pretty advanced pages... Don't worry.. it is easier than you think... If I may recommend a book... PHP/MySQL Programming for the absolute beginner. By Andy Harris. Published by Premier Press. It starts out with basic html refresher and then gets into some VERY good tutorials about php...

Good Luck

Brilliant, thanks heaps!

I know I've got to learn PHP- that's what I'm scared aboooot :(. :sad:

Never be scared when someone else is paying you to learn something :D

Sarah

I agree.. If it's free... it's for me.... Having someone else pay for you to learn is the only way to go. I am being paid to learn php and mysql.. It is challenging but worth the effort...

Unfortunately I get paid peanuts to learn something I'm not really interested in. It's a shame because I usually love my job. I suppose it's a useful skill to have though and may earn me a bit of money in the long run.