Hello all. im new to mySQL database so dont know very much so sorry if its a daft question.

I have a mySQL database with a company called 5quidhosting but my hosting is with heart internet.

Can i get a web page hosted with heart to access the database on 5quidhosting?

or do i need to get a mysql databse with the same company who do my hosting?

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Hi Nats,

In order to make things easier for yourself, why not move your database to your current hosting company? Personally, I would not have it any other way.

Genesisgrace

Heart internet offer me better deals then 5quidhosting, except they dont offer me a database, :(

Heart internet is a better run service then 5quidhosting.

i will lose out on over 5 products that i use. because 5quidhosting dont have them,

But if i create the database is they a way to access it ? and use it
it would be great if i could

Hello all. im new to mySQL database so dont know very much so sorry if its a daft question.

I have a mySQL database with a company called 5quidhosting but my hosting is with heart internet.

Can i get a web page hosted with heart to access the database on 5quidhosting?

or do i need to get a mysql databse with the same company who do my hosting?

It is possible to do with your database host and web server separate, but it's a little inefficient.

You will have to speak with your database host and get from them the web address/name and a username/password to be able to access it from an external web server. It is likely that the address you already have is not the address your PHP script(s) will need to use to be able to access it.

An example (use of phpMyAdmin assumed):
You currently use the address interface.someserver.net to access your database through the phpMyAdmin interface. The phpMyAdmin interface then connects to another server called wackoname.anotherserver.com that the database actually resides on.