Hello,
This is my first appearance on a forum ever, I am fairly new at programming and I have following question :
If I make a INSERT...SELECT statement (to transfer data from one table to another) in a MySQL-editor, the statement gets executed once ; the same statement in my PHP-script gets executed twice. Anyone a idea how this is possible ?

^<?php
require_once('../includes/verbinding.php');
$id = $_GET['id'];
$dbc = mysqli_connect(DB_HOST, DB_USER, DB_PASSWORD, DB_NAME);
echo mysqli_error($dbc);
$query = "INSERT INTO Coach (CoachVoornaam, CoachFamnaam, CoachAdresnummer, CoachPostcode, CoachWoonplaats, CoachProvincie)
select TMPCoachVoornaam as CoachVoornaam, TMPCoachFamnaam as CoachFamnaam, TMPCoachAdresnummer as CoachAdresnummer, TMPCoachPostcode as CoachPostcode, TMPCoachWoonplaats as CoachWoonplaats, TMPCoachProvincie as CoachProvincie FROM TMPCoach
where TMPCoachID='" . $id ."'";
mysqli_query($dbc, $query);
echo mysqli_error($dbc);
mysqli_close($dbc);
echo 'einde php-script';
?>

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Member Avatar for rajarajan2017

I think no need of the content inside the brackets

I think no need of the content inside the brackets

If I don't add what is between brackets(), I get the errormessage "column count doesn't match the value count", and if I leave out the brackets, I'm getting a syntax-error...

There is no reason why it should be executed twice, unless you refreshed the page.

There is no reason why it should be executed twice, unless you refreshed the page.

Checked that, but the page doesn't get refreshed...

verbinding.php just contains 4 DEFINE() for my db-connection. I even deleted the code , and retyped it but the result is the same. Sorry guys...

Not sure but you can execute these two query separately.
First insert query then execute it and then select query and again execute.
Its a trial & error.

Not sure but you can execute these two query separately.