i am just learning how to code for oop and i have an error that i have not seen

Fatal error: Class 'queryUpdate' not found in testingfile.php on line 28

line 28

$queryUpdate = new queryUpdate($table, $fields, $condition);

what i am trying to run. which is in another file that is brought in with an include

public function queryUpdate($table, $fields, $condition){

$values = "";
		if($fields != ''){
		foreach ($fields as &$value) {
			${$value} = $_POST[$value];
			$values .= $value."='$".$value."', ";
			}
			}

// remove our trailing space and , 
        $fields = substr($values, 0, -2);

$query = "UPDATE $table SET $fields WHERE $condition ";

$result = mysql_query($query);

}

thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 43 Replies

queryUpdate is a function, not a class. Read more here.

here yo go, chew on this for a while, I didn't really test any of it but it should give you kind of an idea of the purpose of a class and maybe something to start with.

<?php
class MyDBClass
{
    private $arrDBConns = array();
    public $arrErrors = array();

function __construct()
    {

}

//define the database connection info, the purpose is to support multiple databases and users
    //if a connection is created it is kept alive for the duration of the script
    //something can be added later to close if necessary but it may be faster just to leave it open
    function getDBInfo($strDbType)
    {
        $arrDBInfo = array();
        $arrDBInfo["dbname1"] = array("username"=>"my_db_user1", "pass"=>"my_db_pass1", "server"=>"servername");
        $arrDBInfo["dbname2"] = array("username"=>"my_db_user2", "pass"=>"my_db_pass2", "server"=>"servername");
        $arrDBInfo["dbname3"] = array("username"=>"my_db_user3", "pass"=>"my_db_pass3", "server"=>"servername");
        $arrDBInfo["dbname4"] = array("username"=>"my_db_user4", "pass"=>"my_db_pass4", "server"=>"servername");

if(in_array($strDbType, $arrDBInfo))
        {
            return $arrDBInfo[$strDbType];
        }