I'm trying to create a back end for a food truck whose menu constantly changes. I want to make a form that can update text on another page. I'm new to PHP. I think I need a way for the form to update html. So far I have the form made so it will submit the text but the text dosn't remain on the page after it's closed. Is this possible in PHP or do I need to use something else? Here is what I have so far.

http://comp.uark.edu/~cdavies/menu/menuadmin.php

Recommended Answers

All 28 Replies

You won't be able to keep your changes if all you're doing is having PHP process a form and then display the results because you're not saving it anywhere.

Two solutions:

1. Have the PHP that processes your form and then writes the output to a file that you can access. When you update the form, your PHP should overwrite the existing file with the new form data.
What you'd need is 3 (minimum) files:
-form.html Displays your form and points to 'update.php'
-update.php Processes the form and writes the values to 'menu.html'
-menu.html Displays the newest menu

2. Use a mysql database. You would need these files:
-form.html Same as above
-update.php Processes the form and updates a table in your mysql database with the data collected from 'form.html'
-menu.php Selects the proper fields from your mysql table, assigns them to a variable, and then displays the newest menu by including the variables within the same basic HTML you'd use for 'menu.html'.

Each has its own advantage, but will give you pretty much the same result. If you use mysql, you can store and retrieve the information in whatever way you need, but if it's just a basic menu that you're after, writing the form's information to an HTML page will do that too. If you're planning on expanding this, I'd go with mysql, otherwise, go with the first option.

Good luck, let me know if you need more help.

-Ty

Member Avatar for diafol