Hi,

I have a site with a login form for users and administrators to enter their details. Anyone can show me simple code how to separate between admin login and user login because i'm new in php.I uses PHP object oriented.Anyone can show me simple tutorial and easy to understand how to do that login.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

For admin and users have you used same table in your database?

You can implement this by PHP sessions or cookies.
Learn PHP Sessions here :
http://www.tizag.com/phpT/phpsessions.php

Then you can go for implementations.
refer :
http://marakana.com/blog/examples/php-implementing-secure-login-with-php-javascript-and-sessions-without-ssl.html

If you are using only sessions, you can differ your pages by setting one session like flag 1 for admin and 0 for users.
If you are using databases for this you differ your pages with query.

Try and implement this and post your code for help if you find any difficulties.
Thanks.

In my table i have Admin=Y for administrator and Admin=N for user.

OK then you have to use that field in session when user login as following..

$_SESSION["admin"]=$rs["admin"];

Now you can differentiate with the session. If $_SESSION["admin"]="Y" then admin login else user login

See it's just simple...once you have logged in just check the $_SESSION["admin"],if it is set then then use this:-

if(isset($_SESSION['admin']))
{
//code for admin page....or either you can also redirect him to other pages for adiminstration and maintainance purpose
}
else
{
//non-admin page or content
}
Member Avatar for diafol

users table should have a 'usertype' field, e.g. 0 = unconfirmed, 1 = user, 2 = moderator, 4 = admin etc. Whatever you need.

when user logs in, check the DB, get the usertype and place it in a session var as already described. This var then allows or refuses entry to certain pages, or even shows different data on a page, e.g extra nav items or sidebar quickactions etc.