Hi guys,

I really need some help here. I have been tasked to do a secure login system for the charities website. I have been looking on the web, and sure there are a multitude of examples out there. But my problem is the police, ambulance, NHS, etc are going to be logging in. So I need a system that is pretty damn secure and does not use cookies. The information that is going to be secured is personally identifiable information for members of the charity and this is making me extremly nervous. I have never used PHP before, so have absolutely no idea what I am doing and copying and pasting of code is probably going to leave me way open. So, if someone out there can please help me through this I would be extremly gratefull. I have no problem with giving you credit on the page/s involved. But I need some help here please! Joe public should not be able to register an account either, so I am going to need to be able to control who is applying for registration. I have also been informed that they don't want email activation links sent to them either!

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Hi,

Just for the sake of curiousity, why they don't want cookie? You can make cookie's lifetime until the session is unset. Before jumping into this project, make sure you have the general understanding in vulnerabilities of both and not having either one. Please read more about session fixiation, and how to implement session and cookie at the same time. You can read more about security here

Going back to the log in script, there are many of them out there, but I always recommend something that is still a barebone.. Why? Because, you want to see all the codes and able to view, analyze to make sure there is nothing malicious script inserted to steal some of your user's important data. Sometimes starter script is all we need to get going.

Copying and pasting is good at times, but only if you are just using it to use existing functions rather than writing it yourself.