I am new to PHP/MySQL and currently working on a project to learn it a little better. I have a bit of PHP code and it has a problem that I'm having a little trouble figuring out.

Basically, it is taking session data and writing it to a MySQL database. Here is the entire code:

<?php

$con = mysql_connect("localhost","my_username","mypassword");
if (!$con)
  {
  die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
  }

mysql_select_db("myserver_imaging", $con);

mysql_query ("INSERT INTO imaging (os,MAC,Model,AntiVirus,Browser,Email,Connectivity,Sound,Ports) VALUES ('".$_SESSION['imaging2']."','".$_SESSION['imaging3']."','".$_SESSION['imaging4']."','".$_SESSION['antivirus']."','".$_SESSION['browser']."','".$_SESSION['email']."','".$_SESSION['connectivity']."','".$_SESSION['sound']."','".$_SESSION['ports']."')");
OR die("Could not update: ".mysql_error());

mysql_close($con);
?>

Now here's the problem. When I remove line 12 (the OR die statement), the data gets written to the database, but it errors out. I'm using Joomla 2.5 with the Sourcerer plug-in to insert PHP into my pages, and the error messages point directly to a couple modules in my template.

When I add the statement back in, the page redirects where it is supposed to, but the data doesn't get written to the database.

I know this question would best be directed to those using Joomla, but I'm also curious to know if there is a problem with my syntax in line 12. This isn't a huge deal since it is only a project, but I would still like to know if the problem is with my syntax.

Any suggestions or comments would be very much appreciated! Thanks for checking into it with me.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Remove the semicolin from the end of line 11. So lines 11 and 12 should be all one line of code as such: