Hi, I'm new to PHP and I want to know how to prevent SQL injection? Any php features can prevent the SQL injection?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You can simply prevent SI by using Standard method & function, There are some Rules you have to follow.

• Never Trust on User data.
  • Use server side validation.
  • Always use salt + MD5 passwords
  • Close you database connection at at end of script
  • trim user Input data
  • Remove special Character’s before insert into your database.

Adding/improving on what is above...

Learn SQL and understand what an SQL injection attack is.... if you know the language, you will understand what you don't want users putting into your SQL table, and what they will be getting out of it. Once you know all of that, you can use PHP to remove those threats before they are ever passed into your SQL query.

Learning at minimum to use mysql_real_escape_string() on your user variables will help a lot. It seems that PHP is moving more towards mysqli prepared statements, or PDO.

So, in response to your question... preg_match, mysql_real_escape_string, str_replace and a few others that will prepare your queries to keep them clean are what you will be using.

Always use salt + MD5 passwords

sha is more secure than md5 - http://www.php.net/manual/en/function.sha1.php

Also limit the privileges on the mysql user the site runs off - if the site doesnt need the drop command to function - don't allow it to

I generally just remove/canonicalise single quotes, double quotes and back slashes. Then limit the variable to be what you expect it to be, for a digit - validate it is just a digit and same for alpha numeric with the ctype functions-> http://php.net/manual/en/book.ctype.php