Hello everyone,
Im new in web development, Im using localhost (XAMMP),I'm trying to make my website which basically allows users to compile and run their submitted java program on my server(my web page).Essentially, I want when the users click a button(upload) they upload file from file source(e.g desktop or anywhere from computer) and after uploading they hit button to submit( submit) which will then able them to display the output of their program when it compiles correcly otherwise it will displays the type of error that code has. How can this be done? I searched a lot I found ideone.com, codepad.com which are nearly same concept but I only want for java and don't how to they made this site to design like them.I don't know if this can be done using php if I can would be much greatful if someone provide me code I already using (phpMyAdmin). Your Helps would be much appreciated!
Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

I'm no good with Java, but running user-supplied php code in your site is a big no-no. This is usually done with eval() - but for security reasons I would strongly urge you not to use it. An user posting using something like this:

if ($handle = opendir('/')) {
    echo "Directory handle: $handle\n";
    echo "Entries:\n";
    while (false !== ($entry = readdir($handle))) {
        echo "$entry<br />";
    }
    closedir($handle);
}

Would get your root files. Then just a matter of changing the path to get into your sensitive data. Then when the user finds your db.php file -

$f = file_get_contents('/secretfolder/dp.php');
echo '<pre>' . htmlentities($f) . '</pre>';