Hi guys,

I am a little new to this stuff but have done a few research regarding PHP.

Currently, I am trying to learn PHP to allow a web portal to interact with data stored on MySQL database.

In other words, lets say I have a website that displays information by retrieving data from a MySQL database via PHP. That means I would need to practice writing PHP scripts to do that.

My question:

I have read a few places with varying answers, so I will ask for a recommendation here:

I am using Windows 7 and I am wondering which program and what I need to go about starting this? (For example, if you write Java, you might want to download Eclipse to be able to practice writing Java code).

For PHP, there are two things I am concerned with right now in terms of learning and seeing does my code work:
1: It is not clear what I need to be able to test the code for its correctness and also...

2: Be able to run it on a MySQL database and see can I output data properly to a website.

Thank you,

Limiter

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

first you have to have
1.apache - for the webserver
2. php
3. mysql - for the database
or you could download xampp (it has all of the stuff above)

you could choose any text editor
i am using subline text editor

as code739 said
u need a editor, sublimetext2 editor is very good and you can also use dream weaver
and for the correctness of code there is nothing in php to debug code you have echo your out put and put
mysql_error() function for any db error and in phpmyadmin you test query and convert it into php code their is option in phpmyadmin to convert query for your php code so you can use that query.

For the webservice, I use WAMP, it is simple to use, at least for me.
To test the code, you will have to figure out ways to do it. You can print your results/variables to make sure the correct data is in it. Sometimes I use the element inspect from the browsers, I like Firebug for Mozilla, if I want to take a look in more details.