I have some experience of PHP but limited knowledge of handling arrays.
My db table has 5000+ rows and 13000 populated fields. I want to create an alphabtical, visible index of the contents of each field, possibly for inclusion in an html page. If this possible, can it be initiated through an array. I can SELECT an array of all rows or by alphabet letter.
If not, is javascript a better option.
Can someone kindly point me in right direction and start me off ?

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Javascript would be nice for that. Try searching for JSON tuitorials its popular nowadays and can help you on problems like that.

5000+ rows and 13000 populated fields

sound like a job for the database itself. It's designed to handle large amount of data.
In php you can run into memory problems and/or long prosessing times.
and sending it all over the net so that javascript can handlel it, will increase load times

How about a tool like datatables.net?

According to me, Javascript would be a better option. 

Are you saying you have a database table with 2, possibly 3 columns?

Member Avatar for diafol

I'm assuming that you wouldn't be showing 5000+ records at any one time. Your page would be ridiculously long. Have you thought about pagination? That is just showing the first 50 records with pagelinks for the next 50 etc?

You have a few ways to do this. If you really need to dump 5000+ records into the page, then I really don't see any advantage to using js as php has to process it first anyway before formatting the data for js to stick its oar in.

If however, you're going to chunk up the data into pages, then you may wish to use javascript / ajax.
Depending on the volatility of your data, you could dump it all into a json on page load and then just display the first 50. Then on page click, you just get the data from the json to overwrite your html table. This is just a simple js solution, not requiring ajax nor page refresh.