Hi all,

I've been working with PHP, using procedural methods, for several years now, and have begun to explore the object-oriented side of it. While it didn't take me long to understand the potential advantages that come with working in this manner, I'm still having some trouble wrapping my head around doing the things I used to do procedurally in an object-oriented manner. A lot of the tutorials cover the basic applications of classes, properties, and methods, but I'm having trouble applying them to projects I'm working on.

For instance, I have a form, that I put a class together to validate it:

class formValidator {
    //set your properties for the class
    private var $user_input = array();
    protected var $response_code = 0;
    protected var $response_msg = "";

public function set_validator($user_input){
        foreach ($user_input as $key => $value){
            //check to see if the field name contains "e-",
            //designating it as a required field
            if(strpos($key,"r-") !== FALSE) {
                //Check string length, if 0 then return empty field message
                if (strlen($value) === 0) {
                    $this->response_code = 1;
                    $this->response_msg = "Required field is empty!";
                }
            }
            //check to see if the field name contains "e-",
            //designating it as an e-mail field
            if(strpos($key,"e-") !== FALSE){
                //Check the datatype to confirm a string has been passed in
                if (is_string($value)&&($value != "")) {
                    //Regular expression pattern.
                    //Pattern breakdown:
                    //** [a-zA-Z0-9_] - any character between a-z, A-Z or 0-9
                    //** + - require one or more of the preceding item.
                    //** @{1} - Simply means 1 '@' symbol required.
                    //** [a-zA-Z]+ - any character between a-z, A-Z (1 or more required).