Hello Guys.... Im a first year student in web coding.
Im making my exam project right now and i really need you guys help for this simple thing :D.
In my school we are using PHP, and ofcause im making my menu with a database and php..
Well my problem is that i really want the (selected) feature in my menu... But since im pulling all of my menu point out in one, i dont know how seperate the selected option.
As you can see im not the best at english, so im just gonna show you guys my code and really hope u can help me, if u got any questions or there is something u dont understand, please ask me.

Here is where im pulling the menu points out of my database

the problem as u can see is i made a ID on my <li> named selected, but since on doing it this way it just counts for every single menu point

<?php
function menu($db){
    echo '<ul>';
    $sql_menu="SELECT * FROM menu";
    $result_menu=mysqli_query($db,$sql_menu);
        while($row_menu = mysqli_fetch_array($result_menu)){
            echo '<b>';
            echo '<li id="selected"><a href="index.php?side='.$row_menu['menu_id'].'">'.$row_menu['menu_text'].'</a></li>';
            echo '</b>';
    }
        echo '</ul>';
}
?>
And here is my CCS
#menu1 ul {
    list-style-type: none;
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    margin:0px 0px 0px 0px;
    z-index:2;
}

#menu1 li {
    float: left;
}

#menu1 a:link, a:visited {
    display: block;
    width:136px;
    height:18px;
    color:black;
    text-align: center;
    padding: 12px;
    text-decoration:none;
    text-transform: uppercase;
    font-size:15px;
    margin-top:10px;

}

#menu1 a:hover, a:active {
    color:white;
    background:#41A9DF;
    border-radius:30px;
    font-family: 'Dancing Script', cursive;
}

#menu1 li#selected a{
    color:#F00;

}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

1) <li> inside <b> isn't ok - replace to <b> inside <li> instead
2) id need unique but in your example any <li> has same id