Ok, so I am a total PHP n00b so I will explain my problem then say how I would personally logically solve it.

I am creating a website using a php include at the top of the page (same for every page on the site) and one for the bottom of the page. Basically what I want to do is have (what I call) a tree at the top of my page inside my header include file. By tree I mean something like "Home> Tutorial> Html Tutorial > using tables Tutorial". This would of course change based on the page that is being viewed.

My logical solution:

Instead of my tree text in pure html I would have something like "home + Variable". The variable would then be specified at the top of my html file that is the content for the page.

I hope that all makes sense. I would be really grateful if someone could tell me how to do this using PHP. Thank in advance

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

i'm very interested. i'm a noob too, but i think i can do it. but i'm a little baked right now and jamming TOOL. so i'll get back to you later tonight for sure. very interesting.

I really need help with this. If anyone can help me I would be very grateful!!!

Hi guys,

I still haven't found an answer for this and it is vital for my site. I would be so grateful for any response. I will give a gmail invite to anyone who help me, I promise!!!

ok here we go:

header.php

<html>
<body>

Home > <?php echo $variable; ?>

page.php

<?php

$variable = "Current Page";
include "header.php";

?>

I hope that helps you out =)

You had me going for a bit but I have cracked it. It wasn't that you were wrong it was that I didn't realise that you had done the include for me too. Thank you very much mate excellent. Please see the gmail invite in your inbox!

Another question related to this:

What happens if i want to turn all the parts of my tree into hyperlinks which will need to be from http:// upwards. Eg.

<?php

$variable = ("<a href="http://www.mysite.co.uk/tutorials/">Tutorial</a>&gt;