hi everyone!!

I am a final year student doing software engineering..
I need help on my final year project. I am interested in music. i have an idea but i am not sure it can be finished in 7 months time or not. my plan is a sheet music reader. A system that is capble to scan a sheet of music and analyse it. XML file should be generated that captures as much as possible of the music information on the music sheet. Then generating MIDI output from the Music XML file. I really do not know how to do go about ..how do convert the image of the scanned document into a xml? And how do i convert it into midi? What are the areas of study i need to consider? Please give me advice on this project.
I thank all of you in advance!!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

You have to use Music OCR techniques. Check http://www.musitek.com/ for a product doing something similar. For the xml to midi part you have to look for the file format or library for writing midi files.

hi everyone!!

I am a final year student doing software engineering..
I need help on my final year project. I am interested in music. i have an idea but i am not sure it can be finished in 7 months time or not. my plan is a sheet music reader. A system that is capble to scan a sheet of music and analyse it. XML file should be generated that captures as much as possible of the music information on the music sheet. Then generating MIDI output from the Music XML file. I really do not know how to do go about ..how do convert the image of the scanned document into a xml? And how do i convert it into midi? What are the areas of study i need to consider? Please give me advice on this project.
I thank all of you in advance!!

you dont have to worry abt
it's easy

MIDI-XML version 0.02
=====================

MIDI-XML is a suite of Perl modules that provide the capability to convert
MIDI files to XML and XML to MIDI files. It builds on the foundation provided