I've been lurking on DaniWeb for a while now and have finally got round to registering, particuarly after realising it had a Ruby forum.

I've been playing with Ruby for a couple of months now and am in love with its common sense approach to programming, and makes the likes of Java look archaic in their mannerisms.

Basically, I'm interesting in getting a community driven Ruby project running, and would like a show of hands from anyone who'd be interested in such a thing.

Once we've got a small team together on paper, we could throw around some ideas.

Here's just one off the top of my head:

A project management system written entirely in Ruby that manages the development of a website/webapp in Ruby (the website/webapp being the 'front-end' of the system), with developers being able to log in, mess about with a portion of the app (which is seperate from the live version), then await other users to okay his or her changes and/or make appropriate changes. Basically, SourceForge on Rails ;) If successful, people could then use the system to drive collaborative websites run by a team of OpenSource developers.

Come on, get involved! :mrgreen:

Recommended Answers

All 29 Replies

i attempted to make a CMS using ruby on rails before if you want a bit of help

All help will be greatly received squire! Seems this forum is a tad quiet tho :/

I would like to help!

After some googling, ive found that many such projects are available in perl but none in ruby...

how & when are we gonna start this then?

how & when are we gonna start this then?

Just waiting for (hopefully) some more people to show an interest, I'm heading back to Uni tomorrow so next week would be a good time to get cracking. What say you?

Anyway, we can get started on the small stuff in the mean time, that is, learning about each other. What's everybody's skill set/experience? How much time would you be able to dedicate to the project? Any past experience that you can show us? Any project ideas?