I have a web form with the usual personal info at the top, then questions 1 to 130 with 4 multiple choices for each question. When the form is sent , the data is not received in the order of the form. ie. Answers 1-130 are in the following order: 1, 11, 12, 13, 14....19, 2, 20, 21 ..... The personal information at the top is according to alphabetical order of the field name.

I'm not a programmer and just know enough about computers to be dangerous. I am using a simple script - no ASP.

Is there a simple solution to this?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

1 comes before 2
11 (one one) also comes before 2
like the personal information this IS sort by alphabet order of the field name

130 questions number
001 002 003... 009 010 011... 055 056 057... 128 129 130

without knowing which form processor script,
or without viewing the code,
no-one will be able to tell you what flag to turn off or if the sort can be turned off
you could use a consistent form labelling schema

Thanks for replying. I have started to alphabetize the personal info at the beginning and it works. Thanks! But numerically I have about 120 questions with the data coming. That needs work.

I'm using CGI script. Below please find the beginning script, the script where user chooses an answer, and the end script.

<FORM ACTION="/bin/script_library/form_handler_mail" METHOD=POST ACTION="mailto:info@info.com">

<p>1.&nbsp;&nbsp; DCIS is an abbreviation for ____________.  <BR> 
                  <INPUT type=radio value="a" name="1">a. disease carcinoma in-situ<BR>
                  <INPUT type=radio value="b" name="1">b. ductal carcinoma in-situ<BR>
                  <INPUT type=radio value="c" name="1">c. ductal calcification in-situ<BR>
                  <INPUT type=radio value="d" name="1">d. ductal carcinoma invasive surgery</p>

<p>2.&nbsp;&nbsp;The goal of DCIS therapy is the prevention of recurrence of _________ and non-invasive cancer.<BR>