Hello -

I'm looking for advice on the best way (or possible ways) to set up a project for work. I have access to our companies internal web server (for employees), and a MS access database that all users have access to, located on a shared network drive.

I need to create a webpage that gets data from the database and can display it, with the ability to sort it, etc. Because of the strict environment, I think that server-side scripting is out (not available on the webserver). I've tried PHP, ASP, ASP.NET and none of those work. I believe I can use client-side tools, JS or VBScript, etc.

Ideally, the pages would connect to the database, but if I have to, I can export information from Access to a file (XML?) and then read that file in through my available methods. I think that would be a last resort though, because the information is updated frequently throughout the day.

I'm not an expert at any of these languages/scripts, but I have used them all to some small degree so nothing is off the table. I can learn it pretty quickly. I'm more looking for advice on how I should construct this rather than specific code examples or anything.

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

You may want to rethink this or make a business case to you organziation. If there are strict policies in this organization, are you sure they are going to let you export data from this DB into an unmanaged XML file? Even if they do, you would have to build a process to routinely export the data into the format of your choice, then read it from some type of scripting. I do not beleive that JavaScript will be useful for this either.