i started html from the book head first html n css , and just in the second chapter , they're talking about having your own website and that it would help out in learning html. i dont really know anything about this, can anyone suggest if having my own website is required for learning? if so , what are the most affordable options... im a student , and ill just be doing this for the learning.

Recommended Answers

All 24 Replies

Personally, I don't think you should be referencing a book where you already need a website, especially if you are just starting out with learning about it. A good book will have you create your own webpages and you don't need an actual website to do that.

I don't think you should be referencing a book where you already need a website

sorry , im afraid i didnt get you there...
i dont know if i need a website or not , and regarding the book , im only on the early chapters..

So it is not an absolute requirement to know HTML & CSS to have a website. Many of the hosting providers have GUI driven packages and/or content management systems where you simply add content through some interface. However, if you are interested in having more control over the website where you can fully design the layout and styling, knowing HTML, CSS, and JavaScript will be very useful.

HTML is very easy to learn so if you have some interest in web development, it would be very beneficial for you to have HTML knowledge and experience.

I said, "you don't need an actual website to do that". If you are a student then learn everything you can about html, css, and even javascript. JorgeM is right though as there are a number of different GUIs out there where anyone with no knowledge of html and etc is needed but if you want to actually learn about building a website from scratch, I wouldn't recommend that route.