Hi All,

I am a unix script debeloper and I am very new to html coding with basic awarness of syntax. My question is how to add html attributes inside the paragraph which actually contains my XML data?

<LIST>
  <ControlSegment
    TABLENAME="QueueGeneric"
    CLIENT="PST"
    DOCUMENTSTATUS=""
    PARTNERTYPE="TP"
    EDITXM="410"
    EDIVERSION="005010"
    EDIMESSAGETYPE="4100"
    EDIMESSAGECODE=""/>
</LIST>

When I add <font color="red"> they are bypassed and the same is displaying in my output also like below.

<LIST>
  <ControlSegment
   <font color="red"> TABLENAME="QueueGeneric"</font>
    CLIENT="PST"
    DOCUMENTSTATUS=""
    PARTNERTYPE="TP"
    EDITXM="410"
    EDIVERSION="005010"
    EDIMESSAGETYPE="4100"
   <font color="red"> EDIMESSAGECODE="" </font> />
</LIST>

I would much appreciate any help to resolve this.

Thanks,
Badhrish

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

To add styling to XML tags, you would use an external CSS file which you call at the top of your XML document like so:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<?xml-stylesheet type="text/css" href="list.css"?>

But... as far as I know you can't style those attributes seperatly as in your example.

You can style the <list> and <ControlSegment /> as a whole, but if you want to style those attributes seperatly, they have to be in there own XML tags.

http://www.xmlplease.com/xmlcss

Hope this helps a bit!

I personally think that the best way to style your xml file is by using an xslt file.
According to W3Schools: "XSLT (eXtensible Stylesheet Language Transformations) is the recommended style sheet language for XML."
You can start your reading from here: http://www.w3schools.com/xml/xml_xsl.asp
Using this way of styling you have a great deal of versatality and many ways to manipulate your xml file.

Member Avatar for diafol

A bit unclear what you're trying to do.
Are you building the XML file from scratch or trying to edit an existing one?