1,105,578 Community Members

New DaniWeb is CPU intensive

Member Avatar
beeerlover
Light Poster
40 posts since May 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 6 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I just wanted to point out a few things I notice about the new DaniWeb.

In IE6 based browsers it is hogging 25-50% or more CPU every time I click on something in the new site. It never returns to normal, and periodically spikes to 25% without clicking on anything.

In FF3.5.2 I see about half these numbers, but this is still way too high nonetheless. This PC should work at 0%.

Also the pull down menus are not working in IE6 at this time.

I'm running a pretty nice computer here in 64 bit mode (click my profile for info on it); I probably would not have noticed, except for the fact that this site now makes my fan run louder than other sites do!

I'm not complaining, I only want to help get the bugs out :)

Member Avatar
Dani
The Queen of DaniWeb
20,569 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 1,356 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 931 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 204 [?]
Administrator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

I am willing to bet that this is due to third party ads.

Member Avatar
beeerlover
Light Poster
40 posts since May 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 6 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

I am willing to bet that this is due to third party ads.

That was my guess as well. Thanks for the reply. I'm going to mark this as solved, because I use firefox to get around the drop downs not working in IE<7, and buying a new computer to fix the fan noise & CPU useage :P

Question Answered as of 4 Years Ago by Dani
Member Avatar
Dani
The Queen of DaniWeb
20,569 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 1,356 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 931 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 204 [?]
Administrator
Featured
Sponsor
 
0
 

Incidentally ... has the problem been reduced the last day or two?

Member Avatar
beeerlover
Light Poster
40 posts since May 2009
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 6 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Incidentally ... has the problem been reduced the last day or two?

Yes!

Now I have daniweb open in Avant, FF, and Safari with 0-1% cpu useage. Back to normal :)

Member Avatar
Dani
The Queen of DaniWeb
20,569 posts since Feb 2002
Reputation Points: 1,356 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 931 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 204 [?]
Administrator
Featured
Sponsor
 
1
 

Awesome.

You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
View similar articles that have also been tagged: