hi, im new to daniweb but i dont know were else to turn

I have posted this same thread on intels community and 200 veiws later, no one has gotten back to me with any possible solution.

last month i had given my friend a Gateway 500x desktop computer as an upgrade from there windows ME machine

I have restored this computer multiple times and this is the first time i have ever had this issue

before i gave it to him, i did a complete system restore loading Win XP media center edition along with complete updated drivers, everything was working just fine. now i go and hook it up and the internet wont work. i tryed to reinstall the driver and do manual connections and it still wouldnt work. after i did all of that, the motherboard wont reconize the DVD/CD drives or any other accesory. at this point the ethernet port has completely vanished from the system so i did another clean install. the problem is still there!! it is extremly frustrating and at this point i do not know what to do.

what i think is it could be a potential BIOS problem

i have replaced the motherboard and processor about 4 years ago

specs are:

Intel Celron D 2.6 GHz

El Paso motherboard? (i dont know exactly, its the most common)

768 Mb of RAM

windows XP Pro 32-bit

80 Gb ATA Hard Drive

i would really like to know how to resolve this problem

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

First I would check the BIOS setup and see what it is seeing. If the BIOS setup (CMOS) is seeing the CD ROM and other items then look for an option to "Reset Configuration data" in the section that has the PCI IRQ settings and set it to YES. When you reboot it will return to NO after a clean boo to the OS. Let me know what happens.

ok good news, the BIOS problem is fixed, everything is there that needs to be and its booting properly

new problem, it is not connecting to the internet still