954,059 Members — Technology Publication meets Social Media
Username:
Password:
Lost login information?
Have something to say? Contribute New Article Reply to this Article

is this for real?

I was just really curious if this website http://www.webking.com/ is for real or is it just a joke?

There are even testimonials and stuff

qazplm114477
Junior Poster
193 posts since Apr 2010
Reputation Points: 24
Solved Threads: 37
 

The second it started playing royal fanfare music I closed the damn page :twisted:

If he is for real I'm amazed if he has gotten anything other than relatives and non-internet-literate friends as customers.

Lusiphur
Posting Shark
Team Colleague
966 posts since Jun 2010
Reputation Points: 207
Solved Threads: 127
 

this is a good example of what NOT to do when developing a website

qazplm114477
Junior Poster
193 posts since Apr 2010
Reputation Points: 24
Solved Threads: 37
 

I was just really curious if this website http://www.webking.com/ is for real or is it just a joke?

There are even testimonials and stuff

I have to agree with the above comments of what not to do! That page looks like a throw back to the 90s; things have moved on. Though I didn't go past the first page when the picture with the crown placed on top popped up my thoughts turned to...run.

I've created and placed my fair share of bad webdesigns on the internet, however I knew they were absolute rubbish. Though why anyone should place a joke advertisement on the internet for a webdesigner is beyond me.

If you don't mind me asking, how did you come by this site?

Kusanagi03
Newbie Poster
21 posts since Jul 2010
Reputation Points: 10
Solved Threads: 0
 

Even the very first site I made in school wasn't as bad as this.

I actually saw it in a blog post from http://www.plutocrazy.com/blog/

some believe that it's a marketing ploy set to get more views to increase page ranking.

qazplm114477
Junior Poster
193 posts since Apr 2010
Reputation Points: 24
Solved Threads: 37
 

My friends make better sites than that fool(s). http://kurtykool.brinkster.net/ & http://buttonscraig.brinkster.net/ <<< They're both 12. not 50 ... pfft. Or is this your trick way to get hits on your site (or friends, whoever) - I mean, non-returnable hits; if returned, not for a good reason, trust me.

Elihu5991
Junior Poster in Training
96 posts since Sep 2010
Reputation Points: 10
Solved Threads: 1
 

It's got to be a joke. If not, it should be.

diafol
Rhod Gilbert Fan (ardav)
Moderator
7,749 posts since Oct 2006
Reputation Points: 1,168
Solved Threads: 1,071
 

"Treating Customers Royally Since 1996". The site looks like that was the same year it was designed. ;)

OldTime
Light Poster
27 posts since Sep 2010
Reputation Points: 12
Solved Threads: 4
 
It's got to be a joke. If not, it should be.

I hope's it a joke haha. I would understand if it were a personal website but to actually offer web/web design services...

qazplm114477
Junior Poster
193 posts since Apr 2010
Reputation Points: 24
Solved Threads: 37
 

it should be a joke.

alan145
Newbie Poster
8 posts since Sep 2010
Reputation Points: 7
Solved Threads: 0
 

how it can be real i think its a big jok

Paterpaterson
Newbie Poster
3 posts since Jun 2010
Reputation Points: 10
Solved Threads: 0
 

Disgusting. Yuck! Was that person drunk? I've seen sites made before 1996 better than this! N0-offence - You asked, I answered

Elihu5991
Junior Poster in Training
96 posts since Sep 2010
Reputation Points: 10
Solved Threads: 1
 
"Treating Customers Royally Since 1996". The site looks like that was the same year it was designed.

Have to agree with you XD . I apologize to you qazplm114477, I got abit carried away, I'm not assuming it was you.

Elihu5991
Junior Poster in Training
96 posts since Sep 2010
Reputation Points: 10
Solved Threads: 1
 

:twisted::twisted::D:D:icon_lol::icon_exclaim:WTF. There is not enough space here for all the LOL's. How can a peron expect to get ANY money from a site like that. Almost looks like the pop ups "YOU ARE THE 1909874658989387 billionth WINNER TODAY! CLICK HERE"
hahaha.

AndreRet
Senior Poster
3,918 posts since Jan 2008
Reputation Points: 334
Solved Threads: 350
 

Seems like the site is not credible enough just looking at their page.

JohnnySaur
Newbie Poster
18 posts since Sep 2010
Reputation Points: 10
Solved Threads: 0
 

I aggree

Elihu5991
Junior Poster in Training
96 posts since Sep 2010
Reputation Points: 10
Solved Threads: 1
 
Have to agree with you XD . I apologize to you qazplm114477, I got abit carried away, I'm not assuming it was you.

I'd probably kill myself if I ever made a website that bad lol

qazplm114477
Junior Poster
193 posts since Apr 2010
Reputation Points: 24
Solved Threads: 37
 

True, true ... me to that is. How in the world did you find it? We're both far better than that :) What work/sites have you've made?

Elihu5991
Junior Poster in Training
96 posts since Sep 2010
Reputation Points: 10
Solved Threads: 1
 
True, true ... me to that is. How in the world did you find it? We're both far better than that :) What work/sites have you've made?

found it in a blog post at plutocrazy.com/blog. Most of the sites I've made are simple blog sites using CMS like drupal and wordpress.

qazplm114477
Junior Poster
193 posts since Apr 2010
Reputation Points: 24
Solved Threads: 37
 

Awesome !!! What were they?

Elihu5991
Junior Poster in Training
96 posts since Sep 2010
Reputation Points: 10
Solved Threads: 1
 

This article has been dead for over three months

Post: Markdown Syntax: Formatting Help
You
View similar articles that have also been tagged: