I am a Tech Provider-subcontractor who receives work orders for national consumer products warranty repairs on Computers, laptops, Servers, Printers, Point-of-Sale Kiosks electronics such as Digital Photo Printers, Credit Card Readers, Scanners, etc. For commercial and residential customers.

Usually, the work order instructions are pretty cut and clear, giving the product manufacturer and model numbers, as well as what the specific problem is and what is expected to resolve the problem. This time in the text field for model it said: "Unknown". Well, usually that is a challenge for me.

I don't want to go into great detail about this particular job that was routed to me.. accept to say it was a residential customer, an end user with an Apple iMac Panther 10.5.3. I do not know much about MACs. (Read that as, " I don't know anything about MACS")

And because of the vague language and work order notes for this project I didnt know it was a MAC til I arrived at the residence.

I will tell you,, this machine was an older model, I think 2001 or 2002,,,, and it was a beauty.. nice to look at... I think it is called Indingo,,, I was immediately fascinated with MACS ..love at first site.. because of the craftmanship, uniqueness and the technology put into the machine.

Anyway, the problem the customer had was with connectivity; could not connect to the internet.
And I, the service technician, was dispatched after phone support went through all the troubleshooting steps when there is a networking issue.

They actually just wanted me to go look at the machine, see what part was needed to correct the problem: nic card, new system board, router or modem, etc. And to supply or order the part myself and they would reimburse me. (The antennae should have went up then, lol)