I have no working experience but i do have some knowledge in programming and web development. Note that i cant work at a company or such right now so i think freelancing is the best choise for me. I think it's much better to list what kind of projects and such i've done in the past:

Some games using libs like SDL,
Started out with opengl,
Some simple Win32 API apps like String/Bit/Hex encoder/decoder
Some web development with PHP/HTML/CSS/JQUERY, making a few basic webs for myself and editing templates to make it look how i wanted to.

And of course i'm ready and able to learn and i like to do it mainly while working on projects, so my question is:

Can i start making money, even very little from this? I've looked around some jobs on Freelancer websites but there's a lot of competinion and some projects seem a bit hard.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Can i start making money, even very little from this?

Unlikely. Freelancers are expected to hit the ground running, and if you lack real world experience it'll be even harder finding a gig than a permanent junior position. Sure, you could bid on sites like rentacoder.com, but I wouldn't expect to make any kind of living off of it given that most people there bid stupidly low as a supplement to their day job.

Nobody wants to pay someone to learn, unless it's for a permanent position (learn for a while and then be a productive employee for several years). Your level of experience, as you described it, is minimal, you still have a long way to go kid.